First Project of the New Year

I know I’m supposed to be catching up on what I’ve done the last half of last year, but I couldn’t resist finally casting on for a pair of socks I’ve wanted to make from the moment I saw them.

These are my I always wanted to be a Lumberjack…No Viking! Socks.  (It’s a Monty Python reference.)  I absolutely LOVE them!  And I’m only about halfway through the first one.

The pattern is Viking Socks by my friend Lykkefanten.  My picture doesn’t do anything any justice, but you get the idea.  The yarn is Knit Picks Essential Tweed in…Lumberjack!

I’ve used an Estonian cast-on (you can learn it here) and have found that I really like that start for my socks.  It keeps me from casting on too tightly and is really stretchy.

I’ve also been asked to make my Dad a new hat to keep his head warm.  Think I’ve decided on a pattern, and I’m going to use Bernat Alpaca Natural Blends in Ebony to make his dark charcoal grey jacket. 

Now I just need to get cleared for knitting again.  I’ve somehow managed to sprain my wrist and finding difficult even to type.  UGH!  Just when I get going again too!  Sometimes being a klutz is a real pain!

This entry was posted in knitting, socks, sockyarn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

