New Year, New Blog

With this new year, I’ve decided to start a new blog.  In the hopes that it will encourage me to actually blog more, I’ve moved from Blogger to WordPress and renamed the blog.  Now if only I can figure out how to do stuff on this new format, I’ll be good to go.  😀

Good things are already happening this year and I look forward to sharing them with you soon.  First, I thought it might be good to get caught up a little since the last post on Share’s Crafty Corner.

I participated in the Tour de Fleece last year and had a blast.  I spun two laceweight singles of a blue kettle dyed Romney from YarnoraTale.  Not sure of the yardage yet, but it sure felt like a LOT.  I still have at least one more to go to be able to ply them into a useable yarn for Jitterfrog (my oldest son).  He put a claim on the fiber as soon as it came out of the box.  So we’ll see how that goes.   I also got a few other small things spun.

TdF finale 1

And while the TdF was in progress, my Dad gave me an early birthday present…

saxony wheel

After researching on Ravelry, I discovered it’s a Canadian Production Wheel.  He had picked it up at a garage sale for $20-25 (can’t remember now, it’s been so long) and had been using it for decoration for about a year.  When he heard me talking about spinning on my drop spindle, he thought maybe I could actually get some use out of it, so he brought it over.

The wheel told me her name is Grace.  She needs a bit of work done to get her spinning ready.  I’ve cleaned her up and done a couple of test runs to figure out all the parts to be fixed.  Hopefully, I will get her ready before the Tour this year.

I didn’t get much else done fiber-wise once we got into back to school mode.  And after adding PTA Board duties, to teaching Art Awareness and Cub Scouts, I barely had time to do anything anyway.  There was one bit of fiber related stuff going on, but that’s a story for another time.  Let’s just say, I’m very glad the kids gave me a yarn swift for my birthday!

This entry was posted in spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

